West Virginia Your Way

Things to do in West Virginia!

City Teen Visits Greenville, WV

(The following post is courtesy of Taya McCormick, a high school sophmore from Virginia Beach who recently visited Greenville, WV which is located in Monroe County.  Taya wrote the blog and included a few of the photos you see in the article.  Thank you for being our first guest blogger, Taya!)

I took a trip to Greenville, West Virginia after finding my interests on www.WVyourWay.com, and I absolutely loved it. Everything about it was beautiful. I read the history behind Cooks Old Mill and walked around and took some pictures of it. It’s a very big building and very old.

The old mill located along Rt. 12 in Greenville.

Right across from the building is a red wood Mill. It is really pretty because there are flowers all around it and its interesting to learn about what happened in our history.  Beside the Old Mill building there is a little creek and the water is quite cold. The creek is cold because the water runs from a cave into the creek. I sat down and enjoyed the beautiful view from the picnic table that is under a tree that gives shade. On the other side of the Old Mill is a little building that looks like a house made out of wood. Inside of the little building are two looms that are made out of wood. They were used to make wool. It was interesting to look at the looms because we don’t have them anymore and we have gotten rid of most of them. I also think it is interesting to know that women used to sit there for hours and do it. I liked looking at them because we get to know more about how the world was back when we didn’t have all the technology that we do now.

Looms inside one of the buildings at the mill.

When I walked around the creek I saw some really pretty flowers that surrounded it. It was nice to look around and see all the wonderful colors of the wild life. I really enjoyed walking around and looking at nature. The thing I enjoyed most was the bridge that covered the creek water. It was beautiful and I could spend the whole day standing there on the bridge. It was so quiet and the sound of the creek was very peaceful.

Footbridge across the creek below the mill.

Beside the bridge there were two porter potties that you can not use but they are there to look at because that’s how it was back then. If you look across the bridge you see a man made waterfall that lets the creek water from the pond into the running creek that runs under the bridge. When you go across the street there is more nature and more of beautiful scenes. I also saw some ducks and little baby ducks. It was a great day and I enjoyed going to the Old Mill. I also went to – and enjoyed the animals that were there. There were some weird kinds of animals that let me take some pictures of them. I also saw a lot of deer which not a big deal because here in West Virginia the state has a lot of deer. I enjoyed driving in the car and looking at the different kind of animals that – have. Now I know why it is named Greenville because it is filled with nature and the beauty of it is nature. I got to see a lot of interesting things when I visited Greenville and I really enjoyed it. It was a lot of fun and I recommend it for everyone.

Some of the game at Mountain Meadow Hunting Preserve. Go to the Tourism Heading and check the keyword “Hunting,” or under Lodging check “Cabins, Lodges and Wireless Internet.”

August 20, 2012 - Posted by | Lodging, Tourism, Travel | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Taya did a wonderful job describing such a beautiful, peaceful place. Makes me want to visit there as soon as possible.

    Comment by Shirley Keech | August 21, 2012 | Reply

    • I couldn’t agree more. This is the next vacation on my list.

      Comment by Daltan Taylor | September 23, 2012 | Reply

  2. Great information! Thanks for sharing. Love the photos too.

    Comment by Sherry | August 21, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 402 other followers

