West Virginia Your Way

Things to do in West Virginia!

Finding Quilt Shops

Colorful Quilts!

When I was a kid of about 9, I remember my Mom taking me to a quilting bee in an old farmhouse near Gandeeville, WV.  When she asked me if I wanted to go, I reasoned that anything involving bees would at least be exciting.  I asked her what a quilting bee was, and she said it was when ladies sat around working on a quilt and talked. She said nothing about where the bees came into the picture, so I at least had to go and check out what Mom didn’t tell me.

When we got there I sat in the corner and watched women working on a quilt with one hand. Why they didn’t use the other hand I had no idea. Yet all I saw was the right hand of eight or so women poking the quilt as they worked. The whole time I sat there not one bee showed up and caused a commotion.  Needless to say I was disappointed and bored.

Fast forward nearly four decades and in that time I’ve learned to appreciate the beauty and cultural significance of quilts and the stories behind them. A fun part of my job with www.WVyourWay.com is that I get to travel around the state to quilt shops and businesses that sell quilts and see the beauty and care often taken in creating what is much more than just a covering for a bed. There is often a history behind the quilts that is as appealing as any found in the best of museums.

If you want to find some of these shops, and talk to the people who quilts and their history, then go to www.WVyourWay.com and click on the “Tourism” heading at the top of the home page. Once you are on the “Tourism” page, scroll down to the letter ‘Q” and click on “Quilts” and “Quilt Shops.” You can narrow your search down to the region you live in or that you want to visit, or simply search the entire state by clicking the “search” button below the map of the state.

When you get your results you’ll find shops such as The Elkins Sewing Center, where you can meet Sue Pifer, who I found to be one of the most knowledgeable and busiest people in the quilting community.

Heart’s Content Quilts in Hinton is a place where you will find a friendly face and beautiful quilts you can browse, “to your heart’s content’, as Brenda Garcia, the owner, says.

The Quilt Shoppe in Summersville recently moved into a much larger building that has been made nearly as comfortable as one of the many quilts they display around the shop. The amount of fabric and related items is also very impressive.

Other shops around the state worth taking a look at are The Sew Inn in Morgantown, Fabric and Foam Sales near Fairmont, Threads That Bind in Princeton, Wolf Creek Gallery and the Quilters Nook in Alderson, Granny’s Sewing Room in Princeton and the Needle Basket in Sutton. There are many more shops and businesses that sell quilts in West Virginia, so to get a complete listing of those places registered with WVyourWay, just go to the site, search for what you are interested in, and plan your own itinerary. And if you run into a bee in your travels, I hope it doesn’t cause too much of a commotion!

January 3, 2011 - Posted by | Tourism | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. LOL, “anything involving bees would at least be exciting” huh? My grandmother used to make quilts and i have several that she made. They are a lasting legacy from a different era that i think is vanishing in this day and age and i find that a real shame. Nothing is comparible to a handmade quilt and to know the time and effort that goes into making one makes you appreciate them so much more. I enjoyed this blog very much, thank you.

    Comment by Shawna | January 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you for your comments. I agree, it is a shame that we seem to be losing the art of handmade quilts.

      Comment by wvyourway | January 6, 2011 | Reply

  2. My grandmother was a quilter. It really is a true art. My sister Mary, worked with a quilt artist in Raleigh NC at the Art Space art center. Absolutely Beautiful!!!
    Hey if you ever find where the Cabin Creek Quilts are let me know…

    Comment by Melanie Cox | January 7, 2011 | Reply

    • I’ll make a point to locate Cabin Creek Quilts for you next time I’m in the area.

      Comment by wvyourway | January 8, 2011 | Reply

      • I never found its former location open when I was there so it will be good to know where they have gone, thanks.

        Comment by Melanie Cox | January 8, 2011


Leave a Reply

