West Virginia Your Way

Things to do in West Virginia!

The Bridges of Monroe County

Clint Eastwood had a major hit some years back with a movie called “The Bridges of Madison County.”  In the movie he went around taking pictures of the covered bridges of that county and had a romantic interlude with a local housewife played by Meryl Streep.

I had a similar adventure taking photographs of the bridges in Monroe County.  Clint and I took pictures of covered bridges in a county named after a President and both counties started with the letter “M.”  That’s about as far as the similarities go.

I’m not a professional photographer, which my photos can easily prove.  I also failed to have a romantic interlude with any of the local married women.  First, I don’t think my wife, who was with me at the time, would have thought it was romantic.  Secondly, I don’t look like Clint Eastwood.

 

monroelaurelcreekbridge

Laurel Creek Bridge

Still,  the bridges are well-worth seeing and they have interesting stories behind them, which you can read more about on www.MonroeCo.WVyourWay.com.  The Laurel Creek Bridge is the smallest remaining covered bridge in West Virginia.  The bridge is also still in use, so you can drive across it.

 

The Indian Creek Covered Bridge was built by two teenagers in the early 1900’s.  Pause and let that sink in for a moment.  I was a teenager four decades ago and I can’t say that I ever came across any teenagers in all the decades between that could have built a covered bridge.  That’s a pretty cool accomplishment.  (That’s a little 70’s lingo to prove how old I am.)

monroeindiancreekbridge

Indian Creek Covered Bridge

 

Oh, and as a disclaimer, I did not take the photos in this article of the bridges.  They look way too nice; therefore, they could not have possibly been taken by me.

So go to www.MonroeCo.WVyourWay.com and click on the “Tourism” heading and then scroll down and check the “Covered Bridges” keyword.  At the bottom of the page narrow your search to Monroe County and hit the “Search” button to find the bridges of Monroe County.

September 21, 2016 Posted by | History, Tourism, Travel | , , , | Leave a comment